Allison Freedman Weisberg, Executive Director & Founder
Gee Wesley, Program Director
Jessica Lynne, Manager of Development & Communications
Kamillah Collins, CUNY Cultural Corp Program Intern


Advisory Board

Recess’s Advisory Board is composed of a small group of gallerists, curators, artists, and academics who are all leaders in the field of contemporary art. Members of this group each sit on a subcommittee that provides direct support to Recess artists. Advisory Board members conduct studio visits with our Session artists, sit on our selection panel, and provide advice to Recess staff and Board of Directors.

Cecilia Alemani, Director of High Line Art
Howie Chen, Executive Director and Co-founder, Dispatch; Artist
Katie Dixon, Director, Powerhouse Workshops
Deana Haggag, President & CEO, United States Artists
Corin Hewitt, Professor of Sculpture at Virginia Commonwealth University; Artist, Recess
Rujeko Hockley, Assistant Curator, The Whitney Museum of American Art
Ruba Katrib, Curator, MoMA PS1
Prem Krishnamurthy, Founding Principle, Project Projects
Thomas Lax, Curator, The Museum of Modern Art
Maia Murphy, Program Officer, Wildlife Conservation Society
Peter J. Russo, Director, Triple Canopy
William Smith, Editor-in-Chief, Art in America
Mika Tajima, Artist
Lumi Tan, Curator, The Kitchen
Terence Trouillot, Ideas Editor, Artnet

Board of Directors

Malia Simonds
, Art & Special Projects, Bloomberg Philanthropies

Vice Chair
Jan Postma
, Chief Financial Officer, The Museum of Modern Art

Jacob W. Buchdahl, Attorney, Susman Godfrey LLP

Rachael Bedard, MD, Geriatric and Palliative Care Specialist, NYC Dept. of Corrections

Joeonna Bellorado-Samuels, Director, Jack Shainman Gallery; Director, For Freedoms

Kimberly Drew, Social Media Manager, Metropolitan Museum of Art; Artist, Recess

Kelsey Hall, Associate, Brown Harris Stevens; Artist, Recess

Heather Hubbs, Executive Director, New Art Dealers Alliance

Yayoi Shionoiri, General Counsel, Artsy

Jacolby Satterwhite, Artist

Allison Weisberg
, Executive Director & Founder, Recess


2018 Artist Review Panel

In an effort to decentralize visual authority and prize a diversity of critical perspectives, Recess invites a panel consisting of former Session artists, leaders from the contemporary arts community, curators, and arts practitioners with programming experience to review applications.

Rashida Bumbray, Curator/choreographer, Senior Program Manager, Arts Exchange, Open Society Foundations
Howie Chen, Executive Director and Co-founder, Dispatch; Artist
Brendan Fernandes, Former Session Artist
Ruba Katrib, Curator, MoMA PS1
Diya Vij, Co-Director, Public Artists in Residence, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs


Recess gratefully acknowledges our generous supporters. Recess receives support from our Board of Directors as well as a passionate group of individuals who give from $10-$25,000.

Foundation, Corporate & Government Funders:

                               Alloy Development, LLC

The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts
Bloomberg LP Philanthropy
The Greenwich Collection
Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation
Jewish Communal Fund
The New York State Council on the Arts
The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
The Odyssey Fund

The Salomon Foundation

                               The Shapiro-Silverberg Foundation

The Shelley & Donald Rubin Foundation
The Silverweed Foundation

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation


In-kind support and community partners:

Brand X Editions
Chatham Imports, Inc.
Crop Organic Vodka
Farmer’s Botanical Organic Gin
Materials for the Arts & The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
Michter’s Whiskey
Pegasus Productions
Pioneer Works
Raiola Company
Six Point Brewery

The Green Grape